Manipur Cricketer Pheiroijam's Jotin Singh history creat become the fourth Indian Bowlers to take nine wickets on their first-class debut

Manipur Cricketer Pheiroijam's Jotin Singh history creat become the fourth Indian Bowlers to take nine wickets on their first-class debut

 Ranji Trophy: 16 years old boy Manipur Cricketer Pheiroijam's Jotin Singh history creat become the fourth Indian Bowlers to take nine wickets on their first-class debut 

Pheiroijam's Jotin singh

The 2022-23 Ranji Trophy is underway and Day 2 of the tournament witnessed some mind-boggling action.

Manipur pacer Pheiroijam Singh recorded a nine-wicket haul and the same was the highlight of the day.

Meanwhile, Sachin Tendulkar's son Arjun notched a century on his Ranji Trophy debut.

Suyash Prabhudessai, Akshay Chandran, Raghav Dhawan, and Prashant Chopra also scored centuries on the day.

Fifer for Dinesh Pathania

Services pacer Diwesh Pathania produced a stellar spell and ran through Karnataka's batting line-up at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

He recorded a five-wicket haul, 5/86, as Karnataka was restricted to 304 while batting first.

Wicket-keeper Sharath BR (77) top-scored for them.

Meanwhile, Services were 96/4 at stumps on Day 2. They would be determined to get a significant first-innings lead.

Pheiroijam's Jotin singh

Pheiroijam Singh picks a nine-for

Manipur looked down and out after being folded for 186 while batting first against Sikkim.

However, pacer Pheiroijam Join led the fightback with a sensational nine-wicket haul.

He recorded his best figures in First Class cricket as Sikkim could only manage 220, getting a 34-run first-innings lead.

Manipur, who finished the day at 59/4, would like to post a substantial total.

A century on debut for Arjun Tendulkar

Following the footsteps of his father, Arjun Tendulkar has smashed a century on his Ranji Trophy debut.

Arjun, who is representing Goa this season, accomplished the feat vs Rajasthan.

His teammate Suyash Prabhudessai scored a double-ton. While Arjun perished for 120, Prabhudessai ended up scoring 212.

Goa were 493/8 at stumps and would like to further strengthen their grip over the game.

Maiden double-ton for Suyash Prabhudessai

Meanwhile, Prabhudessai, who made his Indian Premier League (IPL) debut for Royal Challengers Bangalore earlier this year, brought up his maiden double-ton in First Class cricket. He added 221 runs for the sixth wickets alongside Arjun. His knock was studded with 29 boundaries.

Akshay Chandran's 150 puts Kerala in command

Number-six batter Akshay Chandran scored a 268-ball 150 as Kerala posted 475 while batting first against Jharkhand. Besides Chandran, Sijomon Joseph contributed 83 runs.

Veteran left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem was the pick of the Jharkhand bowlers, scalping a five-wicket haul.

Meanwhile, Jharkhand finished the day at 87/3. Going past Kerala's total would be a massive challenge for them.

Himachal Pradesh dominates Haryana

After bundling Haryana out for 46, Himachal Pradesh declared their first innings at 487/4.

While openers Raghav Dhawan (182) and Prashant Chopra (137) scored tons, Amit Kumar contributed 81 runs.

Chaitanya Bishnoi scalped a couple of wickets for Haryana.

Haryana would require a miraculous batting effort to script a comeback. HP would aim to seal the deal on the third day.

Shivam Mavi gets a six-for

Uttar Pradesh pacer Shivam Mavi's six-wicket haul bundled Bengal out for 169. The same gave UP a paltry 29-run first-innings lead. Meanwhile, UP was 122/4 at stumps on Day 2. Bengal, as of now, seems slightly ahead in the contest.

Best bowling figures on First-class debut

10-28: Albert Moss (for Canterbury v Wellington (Christchurch 1889/90)

10-36: Fitz Hinds (for AB St Hill’s XI v Trinidad (Port of Spain 1900/01)

9-29: James Lillywhite (for Sussex v Marylebone Cricket Club (Lord’s 1862)

9-35: Vasant Ranjane (for Maharashtra v Saurashtra (Khadakwasla 1956/57)

9-42: Walter Powys (for Cambridge University v Marylebone Cricket Club (Cambridge 1871)

9-45: Amarjith Singh (for Kerala v Andhra (Kunnur 1971/72)

9-52: Sanjay Yadav (for Meghalaya v Nagaland (Sovima 2019/20)

9-55: John Quilty (for South Australia v Victoria (Adelaide Oval 1881/82)

9-67: Henry Hay (for South Australia v Lord Hawke’s XI (Adelaide (Unley Oval) 1902/03)

9-69: Jotin Pheiroijam Singh (for Manipur v Sikkim (Rangpo 2022/23)

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post